OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

LO Navigation IconThe poster-a special form of presentation

LO Navigation IconAdvantages and disadvantages of posters

LO Navigation IconWhat should a good poster look like?

LO Navigation IconStructure and types of posters

LO Navigation IconTools

LO Navigation IconPresenting posters

LO Navigation IconAssessment criteria for posters

LO Navigation IconFurther reading

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

Tools

Colors

Choosing the right color for a poster is more important than choosing one for a presentation. It is therefore necessary to consider (if there isn't a mandatory template) which colors are best to use for one's poster. There are topics having an affinity to certain colors. Green is the color of choice when dealing with environmental topics. However, it is not mandatory to observe such rules; one can deliberately choose another color.

In order to increase legibility, good contrasts are of importance. There are a lot of theories as regards the relation of colors, and all of them are fully justified. In 1961, Johannes Itten developed a color circle, now very common and easy to apply. It is based on the primary colors yellow, red, and blue; a first mixture results in the secondary colors green, orange, and purple. If these colors are again mixed with a primary color one will get tertiary colors. The resulting color circle (available in a CMYK version as well as a RGB one) provides a good basis for your color selection. Complementary colors are rich in contrast; they are diagonally arranged (directly or in an acute angle) on the color circle (e.g. yellow and purple tones, or orange and blue ones).

Fig. 16: Color circle according to Johannes Itten. Source: Wikibooks       (http://de.wikibooks.org/wiki/Datei:Farbkreis_Itten_1961.svg, accessed: 03/03/2016).Fig. 16: Color circle according to Johannes Itten. Source: Wikibooks (http://de.wikibooks.org/wiki/Datei:Farbkreis_Itten_1961.svg, accessed: 03/03/2016).

remark

Colors should be appropriate or form a reasonable contrast to the topic.

remark

Good contrasts improve a poster's legibility.

actColor circle
Look at the color circle according to Johannes Itten (Fig. 16). What is its principle?

The following combinations (font on background and vice versa) are clearly legible:

  • green on purple
  • purple on yellow
  • orange on blue
  • white on black

The following combinations are less recommendable:

  • blue-green on red is hardly recognizable when being color-blind (google «Ishihara test» in order to find out whether you are color blind)
  • red on blue is piercing and causes afterimages
  • blue on green is not contrasting enough

Fig. 17: Examples of color combinations. Source: Diagram by author.Fig. 17: Examples of color combinations. Source: Diagram by author.

actColor combinations
Look at the color combinations (fig. 17) and decide for yourself which ones are well readable and which not.

Software

A poster's quality does not depend necessarily on the software used but on its content and structure. However, an adequate program (e.g. an app) can make one's task easier. It is possible to create posters by means of word processing programs (e.g. Microsoft Word, Open Office, Apple Pages, LaTex, etc.), presentation software (e.g. Microsoft PowerPoint, Apple Keynote, Open Office, etc.), or layout software (e.g. Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign, etc.). Layout software offers more options and better quality but is not always accessible. It is nevertheless possible to create an appealing poster by using word processing programs or presentation software instead.

remark

Using good software can enhance your poster.

Images and graphs

It is important to pay great attention to an image's quality. When creating a poster in A0 format, images must have a good resolution. You therefore have to consider redrawing simple graphs or maps to avoid using a pixelated image from the Internet, which would not be very professional and disturbing to the eye. With graphs eliminate chart junk to focus on data and label graphs directly instead of using legends.

Print

Before printing a poster, you should check it thoroughly since any corrections afterwards can be quite expensive. It is easy to detect and correct any (typing) errors on screen; the colors used can then be tested by using a color printer and a print-out in A4 format. For digitally presented posters the RGB color space should be used, for print CMYK.

Fig. 18: Color spaces RGB and CMYK. Source: Diagram by author.Fig. 18: Color spaces RGB and CMYK. Source: Diagram by author.

remark

Using a bad resolution of graphs and images is rather unprofessional.

actCompare graphs
The two graphs (Graph A and Graph B) visualize the same data. Which one is more effective?

Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

LO Navigation IconPoster, eine besondere Form der Präsentation

LO Navigation IconVor- und Nachteile eines Posters

LO Navigation IconWie sollte ein gutes Poster aussehen?

LO Navigation IconStruktur und Arten von Postern

LO Navigation IconWerkzeuge

LO Navigation IconPräsentation eines Posters

LO Navigation IconBeurteilungskriterien für ein Poster

LO Navigation IconWeiterführende Literatur

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Werkzeuge

Farben

Die Farbwahl ist für ein Poster wichtiger als für einen Vortrag. Deswegen sollte man sich überlegen (wenn man nicht mit einer gegebenen Vorlage arbeiten muss), mit welchen Farbtönen man ein Poster gestalten möchte. Es gibt Themen, die eine Affinität zu bestimmten Farben haben. So wird für die Darstellung von Umweltthemen oft Grün verwendet. Das bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass man sich zwingend an solche Konventionen halten muss, man kann bewusst mit ihnen brechen und andere Farben wählen.

Um die Lesbarkeit zu verbessern, sind gute Kontraste wichtig. Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten und Theorien zur Relation von Farben, die alle ihre Berechtigung haben. Eine weit verbreiteter und einfach anzuwendender Farbkreis wurde von Johannes Itten 1961 entwickelt. Er geht von den Primärfarben Gelb, Rot und Blau aus, deren erste Mischung die Sekundärfarben Grün, Orange und Violett ergeben. Werden diese wiederum mit einer Primärfarbe gemischt, entstehen die Tertiärfarben. Der daraus entstehende Farbkreis (er existiert sowohl in einer CMYK- als auch in einer RGB-Version) bildet eine gute Grundlage für die Farbwahl. Guten Kontrast bilden die Komplementärfarben, die sich auf dem Farbkreis direkt oder in schmalem Winkel gegenüber liegen (z.B. Gelb und Violetttöne oder Orange und Blautöne).

remark

Farben sollen passen oder einen sinnvollen Kontrast zum Inhalt geben.

remark

Gute Kontraste verbessern die Lesbarkeit.

actFarbkreis
Sehen Sie sich den Farbkreis von Johannes Itten an (Abb. 16). Auf welchem Prinzip basiert er?

Abb. 16: Der Farbkreis nach Johannes IttenAbb. 16: Der Farbkreis nach Johannes Itten

Folgende Kombinationen (Schrift auf Hintergrund bzw. umgekehrt) sind gut lesbar:

  • grün auf lila
  • violett auf gelb
  • orange auf blau
  • weiss auf schwarz

Weniger empfehlenswert sind folgende Kombinationen:

  • blaugrün auf rot ist für Farbenblinde kaum auseinanderzuhalten bzw. zu sehen
  • rot auf blau wirkt stechend und ergibt Nachbilder
  • blau auf grün ergibt zu wenig Kontrast.

actFarbkombinationen
Betrachten Sie die Farbkombinationen (Abb. 17) und entscheiden Sie für sich, welche gut lesbar sind und welche nicht.

Abb. 17: Beispiele von FarbkombinationenAbb. 17: Beispiele von Farbkombinationen

Software

Die Qualität eines Posters hängt nicht unbedingt von der verwendeten Software ab, sondern v.a. vom Inhalt und der Struktur. Gleichwohl kann ein geeignetes Programm (bzw. eine App) die Arbeit erleichtern und ein Poster besser aussehen lassen. Man kann Poster mit Textprogrammen (z.B. Microsoft Word, Open Office, Apple Pages, LaTex etc.), Präsentationssoftware (z.B. Microsoft PowerPoint, Apple Keynote, Open Office etc.) oder mit Gestaltungsprogrammen (z.B. Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign etc.) erstellen. Letztere bieten mehr Möglichkeiten und bessere Qualität, sind jedoch nicht für alle zugänglich. Es ist durchaus möglich, ein ansprechendes Poster mit einem Text- oder Präsentationsprogramm zu gestalten.

remark

Mit guter Software lässt sich mehr aus einem Poster herausholen.

Bilder und Grafiken

Da ein Poster auch von den Bildern lebt, sollte man besonders auf eine gute Qualität achten. Für ein Poster im A0-Format müssen Bilder eine gute Auflösung haben. Das bedeutet, dass man sich allenfalls überlegen muss, einfachere Grafiken oder Karten umzuzeichnen, um nicht ein vom Internet heruntergeladenes verpixeltes Bild verwenden zu müssen. Dies wirkt wenig professionell und stört das Auge.

Druck

Bevor man ein Poster zum Druck auf einen Plotter schickt, sollte man es gründlich prüfen, da Korrekturen sonst kostspielig werden. Am Bildschirm lassen sich Tipp- und sonstige Fehler entdecken und beseitigen, die (ungefähre) farbliche Anmutung sieht man gut anhand eines A4-Ausdrucks auf einem Farbdrucker.

remark

Eine schlechte Auflösung der Bilder und Grafiken lässt ein Poster unprofessionell erscheinen.

actVergleichen Sie die beiden Grafiken
Die beiden Grafiken (Grafik A and Grafik B) veranschaulichen die gleichen Daten. Welche Grafik ist besser geeignet?

Abb. 18: Die Farbräume RGB und CMYKAbb. 18: Die Farbräume RGB und CMYK
Top Go to previous page Go to next page