OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

LO Navigation IconThe poster-a special form of presentation

LO Navigation IconAdvantages and disadvantages of posters

LO Navigation IconWhat should a good poster look like?

LO Navigation IconStructure and types of posters

LO Navigation IconTools

LO Navigation IconPresenting posters

LO Navigation IconAssessment criteria for posters

LO Navigation IconFurther reading

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

Structure and types of posters

A poster's structure

Posters should vary and give creativity its space. However, there are certain basics that are very common. The following order is random and not binding. For the design of a poster the use of rasters or guides may be helpful. Two, three or four columns can be used. Text and images can run over more than one column.

remark

A good structure supports the legibility of a poster.

actRaster
The (example) shows a raster with four columns.

Header area

Not all posters require a header or heading. In general, this is the area where a logo is placed, the logo of a department for which the author is working. There can be guidelines as regards the correct placement of a logo; just inquire at your organization.

Title area

A title should be clearly visible (from a 5 – 10 m distance), significant, and not too long. Due to space restrictions it is often placed next to the logo, which may not be in accordance with your organization's guidelines (e.g. the University of Zurich specifies that the space to the logo's right side has to be left blank).

Author's photo and address

At poster fairs, where authors are not always standing next to their posters, we recommend providing a photo in order to be recognized and approached, if necessary. There should at least be an address (an e-mail address is often sufficient). Make sure to mention all authors and their affiliation (the latter can be put in the footer area).

  • Albus Dumbledore1, Alain D. Sokal2

1 Dept. of Illusion and Magic, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Hogwarts, HW1 2DL, Scotland: albus.dumbledore@hogwarts.edu
2 Dept. of Mathematics, University College London, Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT, England: sokal@math.ucl.ac.uk

Fig. 14: Idealized representation of the structural                elements of a poster. Source: Diagram by author.Fig. 14: Idealized representation of the structural elements of a poster. Source: Diagram by author.

Main area

The main area can be structured and sub-divided, e.g. by using several columns or an image across all columns, etc. In this area, you present the poster's main statement.

Footer area

Header and footer can be seen as a kind of framework tying it all together. However, the footer is not just a graphic element; this is where you can indicate references and contact details as well. This is also the only area where the font size doesn't necessarily have to be read from a distance of 1 - 1.5 m.

actStructural Analysis
Look at this (example) before analyzing it as regards its structure.

Background

Often there are posters highlighted not only with colors but also with a structure or an image. This background should be appropriate as regards the poster's topic and not be distracting at all. If in doubt, it is always best to choose an unstructured background color.

Fonts

In a poster you can use serif as well as sans serif fonts. For longer texts sans serif fonts should be avoided, but since you should not use longer text blocks in a poster both types can be used. Avoid decorative fonts since they are not so legible. Use boldface for emphasis, avoid underscores or italics for a poster.

If you use justification for text blocks, make sure that hyphenation is on. In order to avoid too large spaces between words better use ragged alignment. Lines typically do not contain more than 70-90 characters. Texts with longer lines should have bigger line spacing to render them more legible. Typical line spaces are 20-30% bigger than the font (i.e. for a 40 pt font you should use 48-52 pt line spacing).

actComparision of backgrounds
Compare these three examples as regards their background before criticizing them. Poster A, Poster B and Poster C.

Different types of posters

There are various possibilities to present content by means of a poster. The type to choose depends on the resources available.

Roll-up poster

The most common poster type is the roll-up poster; it is most of the time printed in A0 format and can be transported rolled-up (in a protective cover). This is the easiest and most appealing way, provided that there is an appropriate plotter.
However, there is not always such a plotter. In addition, print-outs in A0 format can be quite expensive. A few software applications therefore offer the possibility to create an A0 poster before printing it in 16 pages (A4 format). These pages then have to be glued or taped together. Compared to a poster in A0 format this is hardly appealing from up close but from afar the difference will be hardly noticeable.

Modular posters

A modular poster consists of different single pages in A4 or A3 format, arranged on a pin board. Its advantages: such a poster can be easily created as well as transported. Additionally, this type of poster requires well-structured text or image blocks. However, such posters give the impression of not being very professional and are therefore no longer very common.

Fig. 15: Font sizes for a digital poster created        in A4 format. Source: Norman Backhaus.Fig. 15: Font sizes for a digital poster created in A4 format. Source: Norman Backhaus.

actLegibility
Look at the example poster with the font sizes on a screen from 1 m distance. Is it still legible?

Digital posters

Special types of posters are digital ones; they are not printed but projected. One will therefore not need an appropriate plotter; however, there are still some things to consider. Not all projectors are suited to present colors adequately. It is therefore necessary to increase contrasts as well as font sizes, due to a projectors' low resolution. When using images, a digital poster can get very large which will complicate transferring it to another computer. In order to minimize compatibility problems, it is best to create a PDF file with implemented fonts.

In order to present colors as best as possible, one should use the (additive) RGB color space (red - green - blue) for projected posters instead of the (subtractive) CMYK color space (cyan – magenta – yellow - key (= black)), which is generally used for print-outs.

remark

Digital posters require a larger font size.

Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

LO Navigation IconPoster, eine besondere Form der Präsentation

LO Navigation IconVor- und Nachteile eines Posters

LO Navigation IconWie sollte ein gutes Poster aussehen?

LO Navigation IconStruktur und Arten von Postern

LO Navigation IconWerkzeuge

LO Navigation IconPräsentation eines Posters

LO Navigation IconBeurteilungskriterien für ein Poster

LO Navigation IconWeiterführende Literatur

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Struktur und Arten von Postern

Struktur eines Posters

Poster sollen nicht alle nach dem gleichen Muster gestrickt werden, denn gerade hier kann Kreativität ausgelebt werden, die nicht in ein zu enges Korsett gezwängt werden sollte. Gleichwohl gibt es Teile, die den meisten Postern gemein sind. Die Reihenfolge muss nicht der hier verwendeten folgen. Für das Design eines Posters kann es hilfreich sein, ein Raster oder einen Leitfaden zu benutzen. Zwei, drei oder vier Spalten können verwendet werden. Text und Bild können sich über mehr als eine Spalte erstrecken.

remark

Eine gute Struktur unterstützt die Lesbarkeit eines Posters.

actRaster
Das Beispiel zeigt ein Raster mit vier Spalten.

Kopfbereich

Nicht alle Poster haben einen Kopf bzw. eine Kopfzeile. Hier wird üblicherweise das Logo der Institution platziert, an welcher die Hauptautorin, der Hauptautor arbeitet. Je nachdem gibt es seitens der Institutionen Richtlinien zur Verwendung und Platzierung des Logos.

Titelbereich

Der Titel sollte sehr gut sichtbar (von 5-10m gut lesbar), prägnant und nicht zu lang sein. Aus Platzgründen wird er oft neben das Logo gestellt, was nicht immer konform mit den Richtlinien der Institution ist (z.B. verlangt die Universität Zürich, dass der Platz rechts vom Logo freigelassen wird).

Autorenfoto und Anschrift

Bei Posterausstellungen, bei der die Autoren nicht immer neben ihrem Poster stehen, empfiehlt es sich ein Foto auf das Poster zu setzen, damit man gegebenenfalls wiedererkannt und angesprochen werden kann. Zumindest eine Kontaktadresse (oft genügt die E-Mail-Adresse) sollte vorhanden sein. Es muss sichergestellt sein, dass alle Autoren und ihre Zugehörigkeiten aufgeführt sind. Letzteres kann auch als Fussnote gesetzt werden.

  • Albus Dumbledore1, Alain D. Sokal2

1 Dept.of Illusion and Magic, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Hogwarts, HW1 2DL, Scotland: albus.dumbledore@hogwarts.edu
2 Dept of Mathematics, University College London, Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT, England: sokal@math.ucl.ac.uk

Abb. 14: Idealtypische Darstellung der Strukturelemente eines PostersAbb. 14: Idealtypische Darstellung der Strukturelemente eines Posters

Hauptbereich

Der Hauptbereich kann weiter unterteilt und strukturiert werden, z.B. in mehrere Spalten oder mit einer Abbildung, die quer über alle Spalten geht etc. In diesem Bereich wird die Hauptaussage des Posters dargelegt.

Fussbereich

Die Kopf- und Fusszeile können als Rahmen gesehen werden, die den Rest zusammenhalten. Doch die Fusszeile ist mehr als nur ein grafisches Element, hier können Quellenangaben und allenfalls Adress- oder Kontaktangaben angebracht werden. Es ist der einzige Bereich, in welchem die Schriftgrösse nicht unbedingt aus einem Abstand von 1-1.5m gelesen können werden muss.

actStrukturanalyse
Schauen Sie sich das Beispielposter an und analysieren Sie es unter dem Aspekt Struktur.

Hintergrund

Oft werden Poster nicht nur mit einer Farbe, sondern mit einer Abbildung oder Struktur hinterlegt. Dies sollte thematisch zum Poster passen und den Lesefluss nicht stören. Im Zweifel lieber einen unstrukturierten Farbhintergrund wählen als einen Hintergrund, der ablenkt.

Fonts

In einem Poster können sowohl Serifen- als auch serifenlose Schriften verwendet werden. Für längere Texte sollten zwar serifenlose Schriften vermieden werden, doch da dies bei Postern nicht der Fall sein sollte, können beide Arten verwendet werden.
Auf dekorative Fonts sollte generell verzichtet werden, sie sind nicht gut lesbar. Für Hervorhebungen ist der Fettdruck geeignet, Unterstreichungen oder Kursivschrift sind zu vermeiden.

Wenn für Textabschnitte der Blocksatz gewählt wird, so muss sichergestellt sein, dass die Silbentrennung aktiviert ist. Zur Vermeidung von zu grossen Abständen zwischen den Wörtern ist es besser, den linksbündigen Flattersatz zu verwenden. Eine Zeile sollte typischerweise nicht mehr als 70-90 Zeichen beinhalten. Texte mit mehreren Zeilen sollten einen grösseren Zeilenabstand haben, um die Lesbarkeit zu verbessern. Üblicherweise ist der Zeilenabstand 20-30% grösser als die Schriftgrösse (z.B. sollte bei einer Schriftgrösse von 40 pt der Zeilenabstand 48-52 pt betragen).

actVergleich dreier Poster
Schauen Sie sich die drei Beispielposter hinsichtlich ihres Hintergrundes an und kritisieren Sie diese: Poster A, Poster B und Poster C.

Arten von Postern

Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, Inhalte in Posterform darzustellen. Es hängt von den zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen ab, welche Art gewählt wird.

Roll-up Poster

Das heute gängigste Poster ist das «Roll-up», das meist im A0-Format ausgedruckt und aufgerollt (in einer Schutzhülle) transportiert wird. Steht ein geeigneter Drucker zur Verfügung, dann ist dies die einfachste und ästhetisch ansprechendste Art.
Doch nicht immer sind solche Drucker vorhanden bzw. ein A0-Ausdruck erschwinglich. Eine Kompromisslösung bieten einige Software-Programme an, bei denen ein Poster in A0 erstellt, aber in 16 A4-Blättern ausgedruckt werden kann. Die Blätter müssen dann noch zusammengeklebt werden. Von Nahem ist dies weniger ansprechend, doch auf etwas Distanz sind die Unterschiede zu einem auf A0-Grösse ausgedruckten Poster kaum zu sehen.

Modulares Poster

Ein modulares Poster besteht aus verschiedenen A4- oder A3-Blättern, die nicht zusammengeklebt, sondern auf einer Pinwand jeweils arrangiert werden. Es hat den Vorteil, einfach herstellbar und gut transportierbar zu sein. Ausserdem wird man gezwungen, Text- bzw. Bildblöcke gut strukturiert darzustellen. Allerdings sieht das Poster weniger professionell aus und ist nicht mehr so häufig anzutreffen.

Abb. 15: Schriftgrössen für ein digitales Poster im Format DIN A4. Quelle: Norman Backhaus.Abb. 15: Schriftgrössen für ein digitales Poster im Format DIN A4. Quelle: Norman Backhaus.

actLesbarkeit
Schauen Sie sich das Beispielposter auf einem Bildschirm aus einer Entfernung von einem Meter an. Ist es noch lesbar?

Eine Spezialform ist das digitale Poster, das nicht ausgedruckt, sondern über einen Beamer projiziert wird. Hier entfällt das Problem, einen adäquaten Drucker zu finden, doch gilt es auch hier einige Dinge zu beachten. So sind nicht alle Beamer gleich gut im Stande, Farben adäquat darzustellen, weswegen man eher grössere Kontraste wählen muss als bei einem Ausdruck. Ausserdem muss die Schriftgrösse aufgrund der geringeren Auflösung etwas grösser gewählt werden. Da vielfach Bilder verwendet werden, kann ein digitales Poster sehr gross werden, was das Übertragen auf einen anderen Computer erschwert. Um Kompatibilitätsprobleme zu minimieren sollte jeweils ein pdf generiert und darauf geachtet werden, dass die Schriften eingebettet sind.

Um Farben möglichst gut darzustellen, sollte der (additive) RGB-Farbraum (Rot-Grün-Blau) und nicht wie für einen Ausdruck der (subtraktive) CMYK-Farbraum (Cyan-Magenta-Yellow-Key, Letzteres steht für Schwarz) verwendet werden.

remark

Beim digitalen Poster muss ein grösserer Schriftgrad verwendet werden.

Top Go to previous page Go to next page