OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

LO Navigation IconThe purpose of academic research and writing

LO Navigation IconThe process of academic research

LO Navigation IconTopic selection, posing problems and questions

LO Navigation IconTheory, hypothesis, and operationalization

LO Navigation IconData collection and data analysis

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

Topic selection, posing problems and questions

Topic selection

Most of the time there are generally two possibilities when selecting a topic: you can apply for a topic advertised by supervisors or select one freely. Both options have their advantages and disadvantages. The advantage of choosing a topic already announced is that this topic is more likely to be integrated into the work of a research group resulting in close mentoring (Bopp et al. 2000: 57). However, your own ideas may not always be considered in this case.

If you choose a topic freely there will be much more room for creativity and personal contribution but perhaps also fewer opportunities to find peers in difficult times. When concentrating on writing a longer piece of work - such as a bachelor's or master's thesis - it is advisable to choose a topic that truly reflects your interests. This doesn't guarantee good questions or wise topic selections; however, you are more likely to keep up the good work and develop new ideas (Bänsch 1999: 33).

When choosing a topic freely you may spend more time with precedent clarifications or adaptations. You should make sure that the topic selected matches the department's and supervisor's line of research, is reasonable as regards its time frame, and is based on a sound literature review.

However, it is not wise to only choose a topic because there is a lot of further reading material. On the one hand, it is then difficult to focus on a particular subject and on the other hand, it isn't the quantity but the quality that counts (Bänsch 1999: 35).

When having a say in the matter you should seize the opportunity, consider your interests and abilities while asking yourself amongst other things:

  • Where do my talents lie?
  • Do I have an inclination towards practical or theoretical work?
  • Do I plan to stay in academia or not?
  • What kind of profession is interesting for me?
  • Do I need a lot of mentoring or do I prefer to work on my own?

When writing a master's thesis it is not necessary to explore completely new intellectual spheres. You should choose a topic already discussed in lectures, seminars or even everyday life, one that can be tackled in a given period of time (Krämer 1999: 16–17).

actExercise: Development of questions
Read the abstract of article ‹Introduction: Rushing for Land: Equitable and sustainable development in Africa, Asia and Latin America› by Zoomers (2011).

Then develop three feasible questions deriving from its content.

Click here for solution proposals (Click here for more information)

Objectives

In addition to social sciences it is mainly geography that has turned out to be a problem-oriented branch of study when dealing with environmental change, globalization, statistical data processing, etc., and trying to find solutions to these problems academically. Even a lecture's or seminar's topic can be qualified as a problem that has to be described, analyzed, and finally solved.

However, in geography problem-oriented research and epistemological research continue to exist side by side. One doesn't only focus on a concrete problem but rather strives to get certain knowledge of a particular issue or e.g. a community. When doing academic research the way of posing a problem determines the superior framework or subject area, respectively. It defines the gist of the matter.

remark

Example: «Tourism can cause social changes in so-called developing countries.»

Research questions

Posing a question (or even more than one) deals with that part of a problem that has to be explored first and in more detail. It precedes the research, is derived from the problem, and should therefore be solved during the course of your writing if possible. Posing a question should to some extend contribute to a problem's solution.

remark

An academic paper focuses on the questions posed.

Trying to find good questions is one of the most challenging tasks when doing academic research. Without clearly defined questions you risk going overboard. It is therefore necessary to take your time and refer to these questions over and over again.

remark

Example: «What effect does tourism have on children going to school in a region faced with poverty?»

The process of developing reserach questions is only completed after analyzing all relevant data. In general, a good question isn't determined from the very beginning but only becomes apparent after familiarizing yourself with the matter. It is also legitimate to make modifications or rephrasings. Theoretical pieces, models or methods applied on recent fields of research can be sources for good questions, as well as scientific papers or topics of public discourse, etc. (Bopp 2000: 57). When wanting to concretize a question it can be worthwhile to exchange views with fellow students in a similar situation. Preconceptions and fixed ideas can then be challenged while bearing in mind a wide range of aspects and issues.

Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

LO Navigation IconZum Zweck wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens

LO Navigation IconAblauf wissenschaftlichen Forschens

LO Navigation IconThemenwahl, Problem- und Fragestellung

LO Navigation IconTheorie, Hypothese und Operationalisierung

LO Navigation IconDatenerhebung und Datenauswertung

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Themenwahl, Problem- und Fragestellung

Themenwahl

Bei vielen Arbeiten bestehen bei der Themenwahl grundsätzlich die beiden Möglichkeiten, sich auf ein bereits ausgeschriebenes Thema zu melden oder ein Thema frei zu wählen. Beide Wege weisen Vor- und Nachteile auf. Die Wahl eines ausgeschriebenen Themas hat den Vorteil, dass das Thema besser in die Arbeit einer Forschungsgruppe integriert und die fachliche Betreuung enger ist (Bopp et al. 2000: 57). Allerdings können eigene Ideen dann nicht immer berücksichtigt werden.

Wird selber ein Thema gewählt, ist der Raum für Kreativität und Eigenleistung relativ gross, dafür fehlen unter Umständen Ansprechpersonen, die bei Schwierigkeiten weiterhelfen können. Es empfiehlt sich insbesondere bei einer Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit, mit der man sich länger beschäftigt, ein Thema zu wählen, das auch den eigenen Interessen entspricht. Interesse ist zwar keine hinreichende Voraussetzung für eine gute Fragestellung oder Themenwahl, dafür ist die Bereitwilligkeit grösser, sich «reinzuhängen» und Ideen zu entwickeln (Bänsch 1999: 33).

Bei einem selbst gewählten Vorschlag ist der Zeitaufwand für vorhergehende Abklärungen und eventuelle Anpassungen relativ gross. Abzuklären ist, ob das gewünschte Thema in die Forschungsrichtung der Abteilung passt, der Zeitrahmen angemessen und genügend Literatur vorhanden ist.

Nicht sinnvoll ist hingegen das alleinige Auswahlkriterium «Quantität an vorhandener Literatur», da einerseits eine grosse Menge die Fokussierung auf ein bestimmtes Thema erschwert, und da andererseits die Quantität nichts über die Qualität der Literatur aussagt (Bänsch 1999: 35).

Wenn man einen Einfluss auf das Thema hat, sollte man diesen auch nutzen und dabei seine eigenen Interessen und Fähigkeiten berücksichtigen und sich u.a. fragen:

  1. Was kann ich besonders gut?
  2. Habe ich eher praktische oder theoretische Interessen?
  3. Will ich in der Wissenschaft bleiben oder nicht?
  4. Welches Berufsfeld würde mich interessieren?
  5. Brauche ich umfangreiche Betreuung oder bin ich lieber auf mich allein gestellt?

In einer Masterarbeit müssen nicht völlig neue intellektuelle Sphären erkundet werden. Man sollte ein Thema wählen, das man aus Vorlesungen, Seminaren oder dem Alltagsleben kennt und in der vorgegebenen Zeitspanne bearbeiten kann (Krämer 1999: 16–17).

actAufgabe zur Entwicklung einer Fragestellung
Lesen Sie das Abstract des Artikels ‹Introduction: Rushing for Land: Equitable and sustainable development in Africa, Asia and Latin America› von Zoomers (2011).

Entwickeln Sie daraus drei mögliche Fragestellungen, die sich aus dem Inhalt ableiten lassen.

Hier finden Sie Lösungsbeispiele (Klicken Sie hier für mehr Informationen)

Problemstellung

In neuerer Zeit hat sich – neben den Sozialwissenschaften – v.a. die Geographie zu einer problemorientierten Fachrichtung entwickelt. Das heisst, es werden Probleme der Umweltverschmutzung, der Globalisierung, der statistischen Datenverarbeitung etc. aufgegriffen und auf wissenschaftlichem Weg Lösungen angestrebt. Auch das Thema einer Vorlesung oder eines Seminars kann als Problem, das es zu beschreiben, zu analysieren, zu diskutieren und zu lösen gilt, bezeichnet werden.

Neben der problemorientierten Forschung hat aber weiterhin die erkenntnisorientierte Forschung ihren Platz in der Geographie. Dabei wird weniger von einem konkreten Problem ausgegangen als vom Ziel, gewisse Erkenntnisse über einen bestimmten Sachverhalt oder z.B. eine Gesellschaft zu erhalten. Bei einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit steckt die Problemstellung den übergeordneten Rahmen bzw. Themenbereich ab. Sie umreisst, worum es im Kern geht.

remark

Beispiel: «Der Tourismus kann in sog. Entwicklungsländern soziale Veränderungen zur Folge haben.»

Fragestellung

Die Fragestellung (es können auch mehrere sein) bezeichnet den Teil des Problems, zu dem es «Wissen zu schaffen» gilt. Sie wird der Arbeit vorangestellt, ist von der Problemstellung abgeleitet und soll im Laufe der Arbeit soweit wie möglich beantwortet werden und einen (Teil-)Beitrag zur Lösung eines Problems bieten.

remark

Im Zentrum einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit steht die Fragestellung.

Das Herausarbeiten einer guten Fragestellung gehört zu den anspruchsvollsten Aufgaben einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Ohne eine klar umschriebene Fragestellung besteht die Gefahr des Ausuferns. Es ist darum wichtig, sich genügend Zeit dafür zu nehmen und sich im Verlauf der Forschung immer wieder auf sie zu beziehen.

remark

Beispiel: «Welche Auswirkungen hat der Tourismus auf den Schulbesuch von Kindern in einer durch Armut geprägten Region?»

Die Entwicklung der Fragestellung ist ein Prozess, der erst mit der Datenanalyse abgeschlossen wird. Gute Fragestellungen sind in der Regel nicht schon von Beginn an unumstösslich festgelegt, sondern kristallisieren sich oft erst nach längerer Einarbeitungszeit und häufigem Umformulieren heraus. Quellen für gute Fragestellungen können theoretische Werke, Modelle und Methoden sein, die auf neue Gebiete angewendet werden, oder wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften und Themen des öffentlichen Diskurses etc. (Bopp 2000: 57). Bei der Konkretisierung der Fragestellungen kann ein Austausch mit anderen Studierenden, die sich in einer ähnlichen Situation befinden, fruchtbar sein. Dadurch können vorgefasste Meinungen und fixe Ideen hinterfragt und ein breiteres Spektrum von Fragen und Aspekten berücksichtigt werden.

Top Go to previous page Go to next page