OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

LO Navigation IconThe purpose of academic research and writing

LO Navigation IconThe process of academic research

LO Navigation IconTopic selection, posing problems and questions

LO Navigation IconTheory, hypothesis, and operationalization

LO Navigation IconData collection and data analysis

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

The purpose of academic research and writing

Formal rules: Basic to scientific communication

Papers, lectures, and colloquia are essential elements of academic studies. Examinations as well as a bachelor's or master's thesis qualify for a degree. Surprisingly, there is not much of a difference between writing a paper and a thesis. In both cases students are required to demonstrate their ability to write scientifically and the basic rules for this are always the same (Krämer 1999: 184):

  • Keep everything reproducible and comprehensible
  • Don't mix opinions (yours and others) with facts
  • Be eager to gain new insights

These basic rules are key to scientific communication and comprehension. On the one hand, these rules are restrictive but on the other hand, they provide a framework for academic research and writing that enables us to understand and evaluate the work of others. These rules shouldn't form an obstacle or restriction; they should on the contrary create the prerequisites to write papers that can then be understood as intended.

These guidelines serve as tools to avoid mistakes and spark interest in doing scientific work. After gaining experience these tools are no longer obstacles but provide efficient strategies when dealing with science in more depth.

Studying

Studying means thoroughly engaging in a subject for several years while developing your personality and world view (the statements in this chapter are based on Reusser (1997)). Studying also means educating yourself and comprises not only the long-term development of coherent and flexible know-how but also the forming of general, disciplinary, individual, and social skills regarding learning and thinking in particular.

Studying not only means learning contents to be reproduced afterwards during examinations. To engage in your own learning and thinking processes should also be part of your studies. It is therefore reasonable to reflect on your strengths and weaknesses as well as your way of approaching and solving problems; it makes sense to keep an open mind in view of any changes. You should accept new experiences, new ways of thinking and proceedings as challenges to be tested while any reorganization regarding your self-perception and world view should be embraced.

If possible, you should not completely separate the knowledge gained during your studies from the professional and experiential know-how. It is essential to integrate newly gained knowledge into everyday life since it will then be easier to comprehend, memorize, and incorporate it into your body of knowledge.

It is also important to mind complete learning processes. It is not advisable to passively attend as many courses as possible for an extended period of time in order to collect material and deal with it later on. Knowledge building should always be followed by phases of consolidation, which means working through learning matters before absorbing them. Only knowledge that has been processed, is structurally transparent and flexible can be used for solving problems and further learning.

During the course of your studies, it is equally important to develop and work on your techniques and learning skills, both personally and academically. Dealing with specialized literature and writing scientific texts and papers, belongs to the core competencies of students. Any intentional act of studying - such as actively listening and taking notes, processing data and texts, writing reviews and papers - contributes to cultivating and consolidating these basic competencies not necessarily related to a specific field. You should seize every opportunity to reflect on basic procedures and strategies before modifying them if necessary.

Studying is not just attending required courses. You should also use the opportunity to actively participate in research projects, trainings, or tutorials. Learning content will then be consolidated more efficiently while perceiving it from another perspective. Additionally, you realize what science can or can't do, e.g. how scientific findings are used and implemented in practice.

Studying is not only an individual task. Discussing learning matters with peers, exchanging learning strategies, difficulties, and experiences are also part of your studies as well as single pieces of work or your individual learning process. Teamwork and discussions promote social skills as well as the ability to accept other opinions and approaches. These aspects are not just concomitants when studying; they should be cultivated and promoted deliberately.

Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

LO Navigation IconZum Zweck wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens

LO Navigation IconAblauf wissenschaftlichen Forschens

LO Navigation IconThemenwahl, Problem- und Fragestellung

LO Navigation IconTheorie, Hypothese und Operationalisierung

LO Navigation IconDatenerhebung und Datenauswertung

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Zum Zweck wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens

Formale Regeln: Basis wissenschaftlicher Kommunikation

Seminararbeiten, Vorträge, Kolloquien und Semesterarbeiten sind integraler Bestandteil eines Studiums. Die Bachelor- beziehungsweise Masterarbeit bildet neben den Prüfungen den Abschluss eines Studienganges. Der Unterschied zwischen einer «kleinen» Seminararbeit und einer Abschlussarbeit ist dabei geringer als man denkt. Man soll zeigen, dass man wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten vermag und die grundlegenden Regeln dafür sind immer die gleichen (Krämer 1999: 184):

  • Alles nachvollziehbar halten
  • Meinungen (eigene und andere) und Fakten nicht vermischen
  • Neue Erkenntnisse gewinnen wollen

Diese formalen Regeln sind Basis der Kommunikation und des Verstehens unter WissenschaftlerInnen. Einerseits engen uns diese Regeln zwar ein, anderseits geben sie uns den Rahmen wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens, der es uns erst ermöglicht, Werke anderer zu verstehen und zu beurteilen. Die Regeln sollen somit nicht als Schikane, als einengendes Korsett verstanden werden, sondern als Voraussetzung, um Arbeiten schreiben zu können, die dann von den Lesenden im Sinne der AutorInnen verstanden werden können.

Der Leitfaden soll als Werkzeugkiste dienen, helfen, Fehler zu vermeiden und Freude am wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten wecken. Hat man den Umgang mit den Werkzeugen einmal eingeübt, stellen diese keine Hindernisse mehr dar, vielmehr ermöglichen sie erst einen effizienten und in die Tiefe gehenden Umgang mit Wissenschaft.

Studieren

Studieren bedeutet, sich über mehrere Jahre gründlich auf eine selbst gewählte Sache einzulassen und dabei seine Persönlichkeit und sein Weltbild zu verändern (die Ausführungen in diesem Kapitel beruhen auf Reusser (1997). Studieren als Selbstbildung umfasst sowohl den langfristigen Aufbau eines zusammenhängenden und beweglichen Fachwissens als auch die Ausbildung von allgemeinen und disziplinären, individuellen und sozialen Lern- und Denkfertigkeiten.

Studieren heisst nicht nur, Inhalte zu erlernen und in Prüfungen wiederzugeben. Die Beschäftigung mit eigenen Lern- und Denkprozessen sollte ebenso Bestandteil des Studiums sein. Es ist deshalb sinnvoll, über Stärken, Schwächen und über die Art, wie Probleme angegangen und gelöst werden, nachzudenken und eventuellen Veränderungen offen gegenüber zu stehen. Neue Erfahrungen, Denk- und Vorgehensweisen sollten als zu prüfende Herausforderungen akzeptiert und eventuelle Umstrukturierungen im Selbstund Weltbild auch bejaht werden.

Das im Studium vermittelte Wissen sollte wenn möglich nicht vollständig vom eigenen Erfahrungs- und Berufswissen abgekoppelt werden. Besonders wichtig ist die Integration neu erworbenen Wissens in den Alltag. Es kann dadurch besser gefasst, in ein bestehendes Wissensgebäude integriert und einfacher memoriert werden.

Ebenso ist auf vollständige Lernprozesse zu achten. Es ist wenig sinnvoll, sich über längere Zeit passiv in möglichst viele Lehrveranstaltungen zu setzen und Texte zur späteren Verarbeitung zu sammeln. Auf den Wissensaufbau sollten immer Phasen der Konsolidierung, das heisst des Durcharbeitens und Festigens des Lernstoffes folgen. Nur gut verarbeitetes, strukturell transparent und beweglich gewordenes Wissen kann als Werkzeug für weiterführendes Lernen und Problemlösen verwendet werden.

Der Erarbeitung und Weiterentwicklung von persönlichen und wissenschaftsbezogenen Arbeitstechniken und Lernkompetenzen sollte während des ganzen Studiums eine wichtige Bedeutung zugemessen werden. Kerntätigkeiten sind dabei der Umgang mit wissenschaftlicher Fachliteratur und das Verfassen wissenschaftlicher Texte und Referate. Jede bewusst vollzogene Studiertätigkeit wie aktives Zuhören und Notizenmachen, die Verarbeitung von Texten und Daten, die Anfertigung von Referaten und schriftlichen Arbeiten trägt zur Kultivierung und Festigung dieser (nicht unbedingt fachbezogenen) Grundkompetenzen bei. Jede Gelegenheit sollte dazu verwendet werden, grundsätzliche Vorgänge und Strategien zu überdenken und gegebenenfalls zu verändern.

Studieren beschränkt sich nicht auf den Besuch vorgegebener Lehrveranstaltungen. Gelegenheiten zur aktiven Mitarbeit an Forschungsprojekten, Praktika oder Tutoraten sollten genutzt werden. Dadurch werden Lerninhalte besser gefestigt und von einem anderen Blickwinkel heraus beleuchtet. Zudem erfährt man dadurch, was die Wissenschaft zu leisten vermag und was nicht, bzw. wie sie in der sog. Praxis angewendet und umgesetzt wird.

Studieren ist keine ausschliesslich individuelle Tätigkeit. Die Verarbeitung des Lernstoffes mit LernpartnerInnen, der Austausch von Lernstrategien, Schwierigkeiten und Erfahrungen gehört ebenso zum Studium wie Einzelarbeiten und individuelle Lernprozesse. In Gruppenarbeiten und Diskussionsrunden trainiert man seine Sozialkompetenz und Fähigkeiten, andere Meinungen und Vorgehensweisen akzeptieren zu können. Diese Aspekte sind also nicht einfach Begleiterscheinungen des Studiums, sondern sollten bewusst gepflegt und gefördert werden.

Top Go to previous page Go to next page