OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

LO Navigation IconThe purpose of academic research and writing

LO Navigation IconThe process of academic research

LO Navigation IconTopic selection, posing problems and questions

LO Navigation IconTheory, hypothesis, and operationalization

LO Navigation IconData collection and data analysis

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

Theory, hypothesis, and operationalization

Approach, theory, model

First, you have to determine the general state of knowledge (or state of the art) as regards a certain objective. Are there already relevant attempts of explanation (models, theories, approaches, debates)? Many times there are theories already existing that provide a basis for discussing or looking at a certain problem.

When choosing a certain approach to explain complex circumstances, specific aspects of your problem area will be highlighted more prominently. Deciding on an approach means considering which questions can then be answered best. After choosing an approach it is necessary to use its related methods consequently.

remark

Examples for approaches: «Education is an important prerequisite for a society's economic development» or «Earnings from tourism support national economy.»

Hypotheses and presumptions

Hypotheses are assumptions that could explain reality or - in other words - that could be the answer to your question. Such an assumption is based on the current state of research; it therefore delivers an answer that is theoretically possible («proposed solution») and applies at least to some extent to the question posed. When dealing with complex topics it is sometimes easier to develop a number of subordinate working hypotheses from just a few main hypotheses.

remark

Example for a hypothesis: «Tourism offers children the possibility to earn money instead of going to school» or «The more tourists the fewer the children are going to school.»

Not all research projects are conducted by means of methods to test hypotheses. In social research, for example, there are reconstructive or interpretive methods as well. Here you try to explain and understand people's actions based on their interpretation of certain issues (Bohnsack 2000: 12–13). However, also with such an approach researchers use hypotheses or presumptions to structure their work. The point is not to finally acknowledge or reject those hypotheses. You rather search for explanations that are plausible and comprehensible.

remark

Example for a presumption: «In developing countries parents are skeptical about their children working for the tourism industry.»

However, most of the time one again acts on theses or presumptions. The point is not to finally acknowledge or reject those assumptions. One rather searches for explanations that are plausible and comprehensible.

remark

Example for an explanation: «Parents don't worry about their children not going to school; they are afraid of losing their status when earning less than their children.»

Operationalization

It is necessary to operationalize the terms used in scientific research (that means particularly the central terms of a hypothesis). In order to guarantee the viability of a research method you have to define first which data will be collected by means of which methods. Research operations have to be specified to comprehend a subject matter in the first place (Bopp 2000: 21). In order to turn the operationalized term into something manageable you determine its exact meaning during a research process.

remark

Example for an operationalization: «When compared to other areas, tourist destinations are areas where children are less likely to go to school.»

Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

LO Navigation IconZum Zweck wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens

LO Navigation IconAblauf wissenschaftlichen Forschens

LO Navigation IconThemenwahl, Problem- und Fragestellung

LO Navigation IconTheorie, Hypothese und Operationalisierung

LO Navigation IconDatenerhebung und Datenauswertung

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Theorie, Hypothese und Operationalisierung

Ansatz, Theorie, Modell

Zuerst muss der allgemeine Wissensstand («Stand der Forschung» oder «state of the art») zu einem Problembereich ermittelt werden. Bestehen bereits Erklärungsversuche (Modelle, Theorien, Ansätze, Debatten) zum Thema? Oftmals werden in einer Arbeit bereits bestehende Theorien herangezogen, anhand derer dann ein bestimmtes Problem diskutiert oder betrachtet werden soll.

Mit der Wahl eines Ansatzes zur Erklärung einer komplexen Wirklichkeit werden immer bestimmte Gesichtspunkte des Problembereichs stärker hervorgehoben als andere. Die Wahl des Ansatzes wird begründet, indem abgewogen wird, welche Fragen damit beantwortet werden können und welche nicht. Hat man einen Ansatz gewählt, ist es wichtig, die damit verbundenen Methoden stringent anzuwenden.

remark

Beispiele für Erklärungsansätze: «Bildung ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung einer Gesellschaft» und «Einkommen aus dem Tourismus tragen zur Entwicklung einer Nationalökonomie bei.»

Hypothese(n) und Vorannahmen

Die Hypothese bezeichnet eine Annahme, mit der die Wirklichkeit erklärt werden könnte oder mit anderen Worten, wie die Antwort auf die Fragestellung heissen könnte. Diese Annahme beruht auf dem bisherigen Stand der Forschung und gibt darum eine theoretisch mögliche Antwort («Lösungsvorschlag») auf die Fragestellung oder einen Teilbereich derselben. Bei einer komplexen Thematik werden manchmal zur einfacheren Bearbeitung aus wenigen Haupthypothesen eine Anzahl von untergeordneten Arbeitshypothesen abgeleitet.

remark

Beispiel für eine Hypothese: «Der Tourismus bietet Kindern Einkommensmöglichkeiten, die sie vom Schulbesuch abhalten» oder «Je mehr TouristInnen an einen Ort kommen, desto weniger gehen die Kinder dort zur Schule.»

Nicht alle Forschungen werden mit hypothesenprüfenden Verfahren durchgeführt. In der Sozialforschung gibt es beispielsweise auch rekonstruktive bzw. interpretative Verfahren. Dabei wird versucht, die Handlungsweisen von Personen zu erklären und nachzuvollziehen, indem man zunächst von ihrer Interpretation der Fragestellung ausgeht (Bohnsack 2000: 12–13). Doch auch hier geht man (meistens) von Thesen oder Vorannahmen aus. Es geht jedoch nicht darum, diese Annahmen am Schluss zu bestätigen oder zu verwerfen. Vielmehr sucht man nach plausiblen und nachvollziehbaren Erklärungen für diese Vorannahmen.

remark

Beispiel für eine Vorannahme: «Eltern in Entwicklungsländern stehen der Arbeit ihrer Kinder im Tourismus skeptisch gegenüber.»

Doch auch hier geht man (meistens) von Thesen oder Vorannahmen aus. Es geht jedoch nicht darum, diese Annahmen am Schluss zu bestätigen oder zu verwerfen. Vielmehr sucht man nach plausiblen und nachvollziehbaren Erklärungen für diese Vorannahmen.

remark

Beispiel für eine Erklärung: «Die Skepsis der Eltern wird weniger damit begründet, dass die Kinder nichts lernen, als mit dem Statusverlust der Eltern, die weit weniger verdienen als ihre Kinder.»

Operationalisierung

Die für die wissenschaftliche Forschung verwendeten Begriffe (d.h. meistens die zentralen Begriffe der Hypothesen) müssen operationalisiert werden. Um die Nachvollziehbarkeit des Forschungsverfahrens zu gewährleisten, wird definiert, welche Daten mit welchen Verfahren zur Bestimmung eines Begriffs erhoben werden. Das heisst, es werden Forschungsoperationen angegeben, die das Erfassen eines Gegenstandes ermöglichen (Bopp 2000: 21). Der operationalisierte Begriff wird auf diese Weise «handhabbar» gemacht, indem festgelegt wird, was im Rahmen eines Forschungsprozesses genau darunter zu verstehen ist.

remark

Beispiel für eine Operationalisierung: «Tourismusdestinationen sind Gebiete, in denen Schulabsenzen von Kindern häufiger sind als in anderen Gebieten.»

Top Go to previous page Go to next page