OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

LO Navigation IconThe purpose of academic research and writing

LO Navigation IconThe process of academic research

LO Navigation IconTopic selection, posing problems and questions

LO Navigation IconTheory, hypothesis, and operationalization

LO Navigation IconData collection and data analysis

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

The process of academic research

There is a wide range of opinions on how to proceed when doing academic research. At this point, we would like to mention two common models for the research process: the linear and the circular model; both have proven to be useful for Geography students.

The linear model (fig. 1) is used when doing quantitative research since its main purpose is to discover causal relationships or attain numerical representativeness. In doing so, it is important to always collect data in the exact same manner to make sure that results are representative and statistically comparable. The circular model (fig. 2) is particularly used when doing qualitative research since it most notably deals with the reconstruction and comprehension of social processes.

Fig. 1: Linear model of a research process. Source: Diagram by author based on Aerni et al. (1998) and Flick (1995: 61 und 83).Fig. 1: Linear model of a research process. Source: Diagram by author based on Aerni et al. (1998) and Flick (1995: 61 und 83).

remark

Quantitative results could be as follows: «62% of the population is content with the government» or «45% of the water runoff as regards the XY river is caused by melting water in summer.»

In contrast to doing quantitative research the general conditions of qualitative research are at first less definite. It is necessary to determine basic data (sampling) step by step (or from case to case) before collecting and analyzing them. Then these data have to be compared in order to provide further contributions to theory (Braun et al. 1987; Speck 1980). Its advantage is the discovery and incorporation of new findings when doing research. Representativeness is not achieved by surveying as many cases as possible but by selecting a wide range of interesting and relevant cases before examining them in more depth.

Fig. 2: Circular model of a research process. Source: Diagram by author based on Flick (1995: 61).Fig. 2: Circular model of a research process. Source: Diagram by author based on Flick (1995: 61).

remark

Results of qualitative research could be as follows: «Farmers fear official paternalism when it comes to new nature conservation projects while the tourism industry welcomes such projects as marketing tools.»

Similar to the circular model you can perceive research as a process focused on posing questions and being connected by various relations to other (cf. fig. 3). Posing questions is key to this research process and influences every step on the way. It is also clear that searching for good questions at the beginning of each and every project is of great importance.

Fig. 3: Research process focusing on the question(s) posed.                Source: Diagram by author based on Marshall & Rossmann (1995: 17).                Draft: M. Kollmair.Fig. 3: Research process focusing on the question(s) posed. Source: Diagram by author based on Marshall & Rossmann (1995: 17). Draft: M. Kollmair.
Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

LO Navigation IconZum Zweck wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens

LO Navigation IconAblauf wissenschaftlichen Forschens

LO Navigation IconThemenwahl, Problem- und Fragestellung

LO Navigation IconTheorie, Hypothese und Operationalisierung

LO Navigation IconDatenerhebung und Datenauswertung

LO Navigation IconInterpretation

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Ablauf wissenschaftlichen Forschens

Es gibt verschiedene Ansichten darüber, wie wissenschaftliche Forschung anzugehen ist. An dieser Stelle führen wir zwei gängige Modelle – das lineare und das zirkuläre – an, die sich in der Geographie als sinnvoll herausgestellt haben.

Das lineare Modell (vgl. Abb. 1) findet eher Verwendung in quantitativer Forschung, bei der es darum geht ursächliche Zusammenhänge zu entdecken oder zahlenmässige Repräsentativität zu erreichen. Dabei ist es wichtig, die Daten immer auf die gleiche Weise zu erheben. Nur so bleiben sie statistisch vergleichbar und die Resultate repräsentativ. Das zirkuläre Modell (vgl. Abb. 2) wird v.a. in der qualitativen Forschung angewandt, bei der es v.a. um die Rekonstruktion und das Verstehen sozialer Prozesse geht.

Abb. 1: Lineares Model des Forschungsprozesses. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nach Aerni et al. (1998) und                  Flick (1995: 61 und 83).Abb. 1: Lineares Model des Forschungsprozesses. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nach Aerni et al. (1998) und Flick (1995: 61 und 83).

remark

Ergebnisse quantitativer Art können z.B. sein: «62% der Bevölkerung ist mit der Regierung zufrieden» oder «45% des sommerlichen Wasserabflusses im Fluss XY geht auf Schmelzwasser zurück.»

Im Gegensatz zur quantitativen Forschung sind in der qualitativen Forschung die Rahmenbedingungen zu Beginn der Forschung weniger klar umrissen. So werden Schritt für Schritt (hier von Fall zu Fall) Datengrundlagen bestimmt (Sampling), Erhebungen und Auswertungen durchgeführt. Diese werden miteinander verglichen und liefern mit jedem Schritt weitere Beiträge zur Theorie (Braun et al. 1987; Speck 1980). Dies hat den Vorteil, dass im Laufe der Forschungsarbeit neue Erkenntnisse entdeckt werden und in diese einfliessen können. Repräsentativität wird dabei nicht über die Anzahl der untersuchten Fälle erlangt, sondern über die Auswahl eines möglichst breiten Spektrums interessanter und relevanter Fälle, die dann vertieft untersucht werden.

Abb. 2: Zirkuläres Modell des Forschungsprozesses. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nach Flick (1995: 61).Abb. 2: Zirkuläres Modell des Forschungsprozesses. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nach Flick (1995: 61).
remark

Ergebnisse qualitativer Forschung können z.B. sein: «Bei neuen Naturschutzvorhaben fürchten Landwirte v.a. behördliche Bevormundung, während die Tourismusindustrie diesen als Marketinginstrument begrüssen».

Ähnlich dem zirkulären Modell kann die Forschung auch als Prozess verstanden werden, bei dem die Fragestellung im Zentrum steht und durch verschiedenste Wechselbeziehungen mit anderen Komponenten verbunden ist (vgl. Abb. 3). Die Fragestellung ist dabei ein zentraler Punkt des Forschungsprozesses und übt auf jeden einzelnen Schritt Einfluss aus. Es verdeutlicht auch, dass der Suche nach einer guten Fragestellung, die am Beginn jeder Arbeit steht, grosse Bedeutung zugemessen werden muss.

Abb. 3: Auf die Fragestellung ausgerichteter Forschungsprozess. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nach Marshall & Rossmann (1995: 17). Entwurf: M. Kollmair.Abb. 3: Auf die Fragestellung ausgerichteter Forschungsprozess. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nach Marshall & Rossmann (1995: 17). Entwurf: M. Kollmair.
Top Go to previous page Go to next page