About the Graduate School


The Graduate School is directed by Prof. Dr. Ross Purves and coordinated by Dr Isabelle Gärtner-Roer. Esther Mettler provides administrative support.

Advisory Board

An Advisory Board provides input on all matters relating to the curriculum and running of the Graduate School. This board consists of one Professor and one Phd student from each of the three core disciplines (Human, Physical and Methodological Geography) within the department. The Advisory Board meets at least once per semester.

Current Advisory Board members are (in alphabetic order):

Prof. Christian Berndt, Economicl Geography

Prof. Sara Fabrikant, Geographic Information Visualization and Analysis

Prof. Michael Schmidt, Head of Teaching

Prof. Andreas Vieli, Glaciology and Geomorphodynamics Group

Leonie Kiewiet, Physical Geography

Nico Neureiter, GIScience and Remote Sensing

Hanneke van 't Veen, Earth System Science