OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

LO Navigation IconIntroduction: «Presentation skills»

LO Navigation IconPreparing for a presentation

LO Navigation IconGeneral information on presentations

LO Navigation IconDiscussion

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

Discussion

Discussions are an important part of your studies and come in various forms and techniques. Often there is room for a discussion after a presentation or speech; the audience can pose questions, add comments or criticism. Group discussions in seminars are essential to exchange information and opinions, or to review texts. In addition, a discussion with peers can be useful when searching for a new topic (e.g. when planning to write a master's thesis).

remark

An objective is to exchange ideas, arguments, and knowledge.

A good, lively discussion has its advantages. It offers the possibility to look into new subjects while including new aspects and views. Established principles and convictions will be challenged and put into perspective while promoting tolerance towards dissidents. Comparing different views in an objective discussion may ideally result in realizing that dissidents can provide «legitimate» arguments as well. The claim to absolute truth can be settled. On the other hand, there are discussions that provide more clarity by showing generally understandable things from different angles. We especially recommend discussing problems since this will activate a potentially wide range of possible solutions as well as innovative and unconventional ideas (Schräder-Naef 1988: 57).

In order to promote a discussion's positive aspects, you have to create some necessary conditions first. All participants have to respect a few basic principles when having a discussion: polite manners, giving others a chance to speak without being interrupted, avoiding interjections and private conversations. All participants are equal, other opinions have to be respected, and all contributions should be paid equal attention. You should be critical but fair as regards all the arguments produced to avoid just reinforcing preconceptions. Arguments should be kept short in order not to wander from the subject.

Additionally, there are mandatory conditions as regards organization and equipment. Discussion groups should consist of five to ten people in the best of cases. Otherwise the range of contributions will be too small or too diverse («chatterbox» vs. «sleeper»). A good preparation is key, for participants as well as the moderator. All participants should know the topic after reading and working through the text to be discussed (marginalia, excerpts, etc.). A moderator has to be able to prevent deviations (not too many details or trivialities), stimulate a stalled discussion, and account for dissenting opinions. It is therefore necessary to have expert knowledge on the one hand and a sense of the situation on the other hand, as well as concrete ideas of how to direct a discussion's energy onto the right track while making it livelier.

When discussing a topic, there are sometimes problems, both individual and group specific. The intensity of participation will always be varying. A few will tend to monologize and prevent others from getting a word in edgewise; they use discussions as platforms for self-promotion. A discussion round often seems to be a battle field, where people not only try to convince others of their opinion but also aim at defeating opponents. Their motto is: «The last word wins». Such a verbal exchange may boost one's ego but will not result in any new findings since all participants are just forced to defend their positions more fiercely than planned.

Group-specific problems often manifest themselves by being afraid of one's own opinion. It is difficult to object to an opinion already accepted by the majority, even if that opinion is different from one's own. Additionally, a mutual consent on the inside can forward intoleration on the outside. A uniform group risks confirming all preconceptions instead of challenging them (Steiger 1994: 172).

remark

Competent moderators always have discussions under control.

remark

Moderators should support timid people in expressing their opinions.

remark

Discussions aren't promoted by fights and verbal exchanges.

Minutes

Minutes are seen as a document (in written, photographic, acoustic, or filmic form). They reflect circumstances and preconditions as completely and transparently as possible and can therefore give information on statements, opinions, activities, etc. In general, minutes are process-driven (description of activities or a discussion). An exception is the results-oriented record of a discussion; such a record especially archives results (Rückriem, Stary & Franck 1989: 57–75). The following rules apply (cf. fig. 20):

  • Do not give an account of the entire course of the discussion and avoid deviations and repetitions
  • Do not repeat arguments literally; their contribution as regards the main problem is important. This means that the recorder has to understand the topic of the discussion and clarify continuously any intermediary results.

Fig. 20: Structure of an elaborate discussion record. Source:        Rückriem, Stary & Franck (1989).Fig. 20: Structure of an elaborate discussion record. Source: Rückriem, Stary & Franck (1989).
Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

LO Navigation IconEinleitung

LO Navigation IconVorbereitung auf einen Vortrag

LO Navigation IconAllgemeine Hinweise für einen Vortrag

LO Navigation IconDiskussion

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Diskussion

Diskussion ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Studiums und wird als Technik in unterschiedlichen Formen angewendet. Oft wird nach Vorträgen eine Diskussion geführt, bei der die Zuhörenden Verständigungsfragen stellen, Ergänzungen anbringen und Kritik üben. Gruppendiskussionen, bei denen Informationen und Meinungen ausgetauscht und Texte besprochen werden, sind in Seminaren sehr wichtig. Zudem helfen Diskussionen, vor allem mit Studierenden in ähnlichen Situationen, bei der Suche nach neuen Themen (beispielsweise Masterarbeitsthemen).

remark

Ziel von Diskussionen ist der Austausch von Gedanken, Argumenten und Kenntnissen.

Gut geführte, lebendige Diskussionen haben grosse Vorteile. Zentral ist, dass dadurch die Möglichkeit gegeben wird, sich mit neuem Wissensstoff auseinanderzusetzen und neue Aspekte und Sichtweisen einzubeziehen. Bestehende Prinzipien und Überzeugungen können dadurch relativiert und hinterfragt, Toleranz Andersdenkenden gegenüber gefördert werden. Der Vergleich unterschiedlicher Haltungen in einer sachlichen Diskussion führt idealerweise dazu, dass «berechtigte» Argumente Andersdenkender erkannt werden. Damit verringert sich der vermeintliche Anspruch auf die umfassende Wahrheit. Andererseits können Diskussionen auch grössere Klarheit schaffen, indem vermeintlich Verständliches aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln beleuchtet wird. Besonders empfehlenswert sind Diskussionen für die Behandlung von Problemen, da so ein potenziell breites Spektrum von Lösungsmöglichkeiten aktiviert wird und auch Chancen für innovative, unkonventionelle Ideen bestehen (Schräder-Naef 1988: 57).

Damit die positiven Aspekte von Diskussionen zum Tragen kommen, müssen gewisse Voraussetzungen gegeben sein. Die TeilnehmerInnen müssen die Grundsätze von Diskussionen respektieren: höflicher Umgangston, andere zu Wort kommen und ausreden lassen, Privatgespräche und Zwischenrufe unterlassen. Alle TeilnehmerInnen sind gleichberechtigt, andere Meinungen werden respektiert und allen Beiträgen wird gleichermassen Beachtung geschenkt. Eine kritische, aber faire Haltung sollte allen Argumenten gegenüber eingenommen werden, damit die Gefahr, nur vorgefasste Meinungen zu bestätigen, reduziert wird. Argumente sollen kurz gefasst werden und nicht vom Thema abschweifen.

Zweitens müssen Bedingungen eher organisatorischer und technischer Art erfüllt sein. Die Gruppengrösse sollte angemessen sein, d.h. im Idealfall ungefähr zwischen fünf und zehn Personen. Ansonsten ist das Spektrum zu gering, oder die Beteiligung der Einzelnen ist zu unterschiedlich («VielsprecherInnen» vs. «SchläferInnen»). Weiter ist auf eine gute Vorbereitung Wert zu legen, und zwar sowohl seitens der TeilnehmerInnen als auch der Diskussionsleitung. Die Diskutierenden sollten das Thema kennen, den zu diskutierenden Text gelesen und verarbeitet haben (Randmarkierungen, Exzerpte etc.). Die leitende Person muss in der Lage sein, ein Abdriften in Details und Nebensächlichkeiten zu verhindern, eine ins Stocken geratene Diskussion zu beleben und verschiedene Voten zu berücksichtigen. Dafür braucht es einerseits tiefere Fachkenntnisse, andererseits auch ein Gespür für die Situation, und konkrete Ideen, um die Diskussion wieder in die Bahnen zu lenken und lebendig zu gestalten.

Probleme tauchen verschiedentlich in Diskussionsrunden auf, und zwar sowohl individueller als auch gruppenspezifischer Art. Immer wieder ist eine unterschiedliche Intensität der Teilnahme zu beobachten. Einzelne tendieren zu Monologen, lassen andere nicht zu Wort kommen und benutzen Diskussionen als Plattformen, sich selbst zu inszenieren. Oft wird die Diskussionsrunde als Kampfplatz betrachtet, wo es darum geht, andere von der eigenen Meinung zu überzeugen bzw. zu besiegen. Dies funktioniert frei nach dem Motto: «Wer das letzte Wort hat, gewinnt». Ein solcher Schlagabtausch dient vielleicht dem Ego einer Person, doch bringt sie kaum neue Erkenntnisse, da die DiskussionsteilnehmerInnen gezwungen werden, Standpunkte mit einer Vehemenz zu verteidigen, die sie zuerst gar nicht beabsichtigt haben.

Probleme gruppenspezifischer Art zeigen sich teilweise in einer «Angst vor der eigenen Meinung». Einer durch die Gruppenmehrheit bereits abgesegneten, wenngleich anderen oder gar falschen Meinung wird selten widersprochen. Zudem kann eine Einigkeit, ein Konsens nach innen, die Intoleranz nach aussen fördern. In einer in sich einigen Gruppe besteht somit die Gefahr, dass bestehende Vorurteile bestätigt und nicht mehr hinterfragt werden (Steiger 1994: 172).

remark

Eine kompetente Leitung hat den Verlauf einer Diskussion immer unter Kontrolle.

remark

DiskussionsleiterInnen haben die Aufgabe, auch den Schüchternen zur Meinungsäusserung zu verhelfen.

remark

Kämpfe und Schlagabtausche bringen Diskussionen nicht weiter.

Protokoll

Ein Protokoll hat den Charakter eines (schriftlichen, fotografischen, akustischen oder filmischen) Dokumentes. Es gibt Umstände und deren Bedingungen möglichst nachvollziehbar und vollständig wieder, vermittelt daher Information über Aussagen, Handlungen, Meinungen etc. Das Protokoll ist im Allgemeinen verlaufsorientiert (Beschreibung eines Handlungsablaufs oder eines Gespräches). Eine Ausnahme bildet das ergebnisorientierte Diskussionsprotokoll, bei welchem v.a. die Resultate festgehalten werden (Rückriem, Stary & Franck 1989: 57–75). Für ein Diskussionsprotokoll (vgl. Abb. 20) gilt:

  • nicht den konkreten Diskussionsverlauf wiederzugeben und Abschweifungen und Wiederholungen wegzulassen
  • Argumente nicht wörtlich aufzunehmen; wichtig ist deren Beitrag zum Hauptproblem. Das heisst, ProtokollantInnen müssen über das Thema der Diskussion Bescheid wissen und während der Diskussion laufend die Zwischenergebnisse abklären.

Abb. 20: Aufbau eines umfassenden DiskussionsprotokollsAbb. 20: Aufbau eines umfassenden Diskussionsprotokolls

Top Go to previous page Go to next page