OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOnline Guidelines for Academic Research and Writing

Unit Navigation IconThe academic research process

Unit Navigation IconOrganization and project management

LO Navigation IconBasic principles of projects

LO Navigation IconThe concept of phases

LO Navigation IconTime management

Unit Navigation IconLiterature research and application

Unit Navigation IconWriting an academic paper

Unit Navigation IconHow do I create a good poster?

Unit Navigation IconPresentation skills

Unit Navigation IconLearning techniques and exam preparation

Unit Navigation IconBibliography

Unit Navigation IconMetadata

Go to previous page Go to next page

The concept of phases

Preliminary work

Initiation of project

The initiation of a project is the period of time between acknowledging a problem and deciding to do something about it. At this rather unstructured stage you collect literature and ideas; the questions posed can still be vague. However, it is already possible to concretize certain steps such as contacting and choosing your mentors or supervisors. In addition, we recommend a project agreement between student and mentor during this stage. Both determine general objectives and expectations while identifying any potential conflicts. This agreement also contains specific requirements such as important milestones (e.g. presentation of concept and results), available resources, and deadlines (organization of empirical research, temporary submission date) (Witschi 1999: 1). A bar chart can be used as a visual aid for your timing, each sub-step relating to a limited period of time.

remark

Project agreements determine general objectives.

Preliminary project

At this stage a provisional concept is prepared while concretizing further steps and timing (fig. 5). The problem, its limitations, and methods are defined more accurately while clarifying the current state of research. Under ideal conditions you can eventually present a concept during a seminar or colloquium.

Fig. 5: Schedule of a master's thesis including milestones. Source: Diagram by author.Fig. 5: Schedule of a master's thesis including milestones. Source: Diagram by author.

Realization

Main project

At this stage you focus on developing a master plan. It is advisable to allow enough time for familiarizing yourself with all relevant theories, arguments, and methods. Afterwards we recommend a detailed review and possible revision, since you set important guidelines for the subsequent data collection at this point.

Detailed project

Here you determine the general conditions for empirical research when operationalizing terms, determining indicators, forming hypotheses, and creating a guide or questionnaire according to requirements. At the end of this stage, it is necessary to make a pretest in order to calibrate the following data collection.

remark

If possible you should pretest the methods selected.

System building

System building in its broadest sense refers to «building» solutions. In relation to a master's thesis, these are the steps when collecting and analyzing data. According to your research model these steps are concurrent and interacting operations when e.g. including provisional results in your data collection.

After completing your project, it is common practice to review your work with a discussion or assessment. However, it is also worthwhile to think about the entire working process, its good as well as its problematic aspects. Usually during university studies you have to write only one or two larger text bodies, but having some experience in project planning is also of value after graduation. On a smaller scale, some of the steps mentioned above will be helpful when writing a term paper.

remark

We recommend beginning to write early while planning some time for revisions.

Application

Realization

In case there is a possibility to make your paper or certain parts of it public, you should seize the opportunity. Turning the paper's or thesis's results into articles, workshops or talks grants access for a wider audience. Additionally, you can gain experience regarding the distribution of research results.

Milestones

It is important to have milestones since they set the course for the project's next steps. When looking at the figure regarding the concept of phases (cf. fig. 6), you realize that the milestones' size (symbolizing their importance) will decrease gradually. The bigger the progress of a project, the lower is the degree of probability to terminate or re-define. This means that you have to think long and hard about the feasibility of the project's next steps, especially at the very beginning.

Fig. 6: Concept of phases in project management. Source: Diagram by author based on Witschi (1999).Fig. 6: Concept of phases in project management. Source: Diagram by author based on Witschi (1999).
remark

Milestones will make it easier to structure your workload.

Top Go to previous page Go to next page

OlwA-Logo
German version of this lesson English version of this lesson Mobile version of this lesson EPUB version of this lesson PDF version of this lesson Search Help

Lesson Navigation IconOLwA - Online-Leitfaden für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten

Unit Navigation IconDer wissenschaftliche Forschungsprozess

Unit Navigation IconArbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement

LO Navigation IconGrundsätze von Projekten

LO Navigation IconDas Phasenkonzept

LO Navigation IconZeitmanagement

Unit Navigation IconLiteraturrecherche und -verarbeitung

Unit Navigation IconVerfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit

Unit Navigation IconWie erstelle ich ein gutes Poster?

Unit Navigation IconVortragstechnik

Unit Navigation IconLerntechnik und Prüfungsvorbereitung

Unit Navigation IconBibliographie

Unit Navigation IconMetadaten

Go to previous page Go to next page

Das Phasenkonzept

Vorarbeiten

Projektanstoss

Unter Projektanstoss ist die Zeitspanne zwischen Erkennen des Problems und dem Entschluss, etwas Konkretes zu unternehmen, zu verstehen. In dieser, eher unstrukturierten Phase werden Literatur und Ideen gesammelt und die Fragestellung kann noch vage sein. Konkretisiert werden hingegen Schritte wie die Kontaktaufnahme und die Wahl der Betreuungspersonen. Zudem ist in dieser Etappe eine Projektvereinbarung zwischen StudentIn und Betreuungsperson empfehlenswert. Generelle Ziele werden von beiden festgelegt, Erwartungen offengelegt und eventuell bestehende Zielkonflikte erkannt. Die Zielvereinbarung beinhaltet konkrete Vorgaben. Dazu gehören u.a. wichtige Meilensteine wie die Präsentation des Konzeptes und der Resultate etc., verfügbare Mittel und Termine wie die Durchführung der Empirie und der provisorische Abgabetermin (Witschi 1999: 1). Als visuelles Hilfsmittel für die Zeiteinteilung kann ein Balkendiagramm dienen, bei dem allen Teilschritten eine beschränkte Zeitspanne zugeordnet wird.

Vorprojekt

In dieser Phase wird das Konzept provisorisch ausgearbeitet und das weitere Vorgehen inklusive Zeitplanung konkretisiert (vgl. Abb. 5). Problemstellung, Grenzen des Problemfeldes und Methoden werden genauer bestimmt und der Stand der Forschung abgeklärt. Am Ende dieser Etappe steht bei der Arbeit im Idealfall die Präsentation des Konzeptes in einem Seminar oder Kolloquium.

remark

In der Projektvereinbarung werden die generellen Ziele festgelegt.

remark

Das Hinarbeiten auf Meilensteine erleichtert die Strukturierung der Arbeit.

Abb. 5: Phasenkonzept des Projektmanagements. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung.Abb. 5: Phasenkonzept des Projektmanagements. Quelle: Eigene Darstellung.

Durchführung

Hauptprojekt

Im Zentrum dieser Etappe steht die Entwicklung eines Gesamtkonzepts, wobei insbesondere für die Einarbeitung in Theorie, Debatte und Methoden genügend Zeit eingeplant werden soll. Eine detaillierte Besprechung und eventuelle Korrektur ist nach diesem Schritt empfehlenswert, da hier wichtige Leitplanken für die nachfolgende Empirie festgelegt werden.

Detailprojekt

Hier werden die Rahmenbedingungen für die Empirie festgelegt, also Begriffe operationalisiert, Indikatoren bestimmt, Hypothesen gebildet und je nach Methode ein Leitfaden oder ein Fragebogen erstellt. Am Ende dieser Phase steht ein Pretest, der je nach Resultat zu Änderungen bei der Datenerhebung führt.

remark

Nach Möglichkeit sollen die gewählten Methoden einem Pretest unterzogen werden.

Systembau

Unter Systembau ist im weitesten Sinn der «Bau» von Lösungen zu verstehen. Bezogen auf eine Masterarbeit sind dies die Schritte der Datenerhebung und -auswertung. Je nach Forschungsmodell laufen diese Schritte parallel und beeinflussen sich gegenseitig, indem beispielsweise Zwischenauswertungen in die Datenerhebung einbezogen werden. Am Schluss dieser Phase steht z.B. eine Prüfung.

remark

Es empfiehlt sich, früh mit dem Schreiben zu beginnen und einige Überarbeitungsschritte einzuplanen.

Nach Beendigung der Arbeit ist eine Projektrückschau in Form einer Besprechung und Beurteilung üblich. Es ist aber auch lohnenswert, sich selber über den ganzen Arbeitsprozess Gedanken zu machen, zu überlegen, was gut und was problematisch war. Zwar wird für das Studium nur eine grosse Arbeit verlangt, Erfahrungen in Projektabläufen sind aber auch nach dem Studium wertvoll. Und in kleinerem Rahmen sind einzelne Schritte auch für Bachelor-, Seminar- oder Semesterarbeiten hilfreich.

Verwertung

Umsetzung

Ergibt sich die Gelegenheit, die Arbeit oder gewisse Inhalte daraus zu verwerten, sollte diese genutzt werden. Die Umsetzung in Artikeln, Workshops oder Vorträgen macht die Resultate der Arbeit für andere zugänglich. Zusätzlich können so weitere Erfahrungen in Anwendung und Verwertung eines Forschungsresultats gesammelt werden.

Meilensteine

Das Setzen von Meilensteinen ist sehr wichtig für ein Projekt, denn dort werden Weichen für die nächsten Schritte gestellt. In der Abbildung zum Phasenkonzept (vgl. Abb. 6) nimmt die Grösse der Meilensteine, ihre Wichtigkeit symbolisierend, im Verlauf des Projekts ab. Denn je weiter dies fortgeschritten ist, desto geringer sollte die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Projektabbruchs oder einer Neuausrichtung sein. Das bedeutet, dass man sich v.a. am Anfang genau überlegen muss, ob die nächsten Schritte eines Projekts so durchgeführt werden können, wie man es sich vorstellt.

Abb. 6: Zeitplan für eine Masterarbeit mit MeilensteinenAbb. 6: Zeitplan für eine Masterarbeit mit Meilensteinen
Top Go to previous page Go to next page