UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2000 at the Millenium Summit of the United Nations 198 nations agreed upon 8 Millenium Development Goals (MDG). The goals should have been achieved by 2015. At the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit in Septemer 2015 a new agenda for sustainable development that builds on the previous one was set. The new agenda is comprised of 17 Sustainable Development Goals that go much further than the MDG and which should be achieved by 2030. Following goals are set:

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health and Well-Being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water and Sanitaion
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work and Econimic Growth
  9. Industry Innovation and Infrastructre
  10. Reduced Inequalities
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life Below Water
  15. Life on Land
  16. Peace and Justice, Stron Institutions
  17. Partnerships for the Goals